A Lot of Bull

Us humans are always looking for ways to exalt ourselves – especially men. For some, climbing a mountain, swimming across a channel, or running a marathon provides a good enough dosage of self esteem building.

However, for others, somewhat sane exercises in getting the juices flowing aren’t enough…they need to get into the insane. Enter the running of the bulls in Pamplona. Animals versus humans…I just don’t get it.

The ‘Los San Fermines’ festival just reminds me that a lot of people crave the extreme. Just a quick peek at YouTube will make you realize that us humans are pretty stupid…I mean setting ourselves on fire, getting run over by cars, beating each other up to bloody messes….Wow! What good fun!

As for me, I’ll try to increase my half-hour neighborhood walks to 45 minutes this week…thank you very much!

_______________


Thrill seekers are chased by Conde de La Corte ranch fighting bulls during the San Fermin festival in Pamplona, northern Spain. The ‘Los San Fermines’ festival, held since 1591, attracts tens of thousands of foreign visitors each year for nine days of revelry (testosterone overload), morning bull-runs and afternoon bullfights. (photos AP)

DIGG story!

4 thoughts on “A Lot of Bull

  1. I’m very clumsy … I can do a whole lot of damage to myself just walking to my car. I can’t imagine the mayhem if I ran with the bulls.

    Okay … just the idea of me running … too funny.

  2. Looks crazy to me, but if you look all over the world there are some pretty strange traditions (wife carrying in Finland always gets a chuckle out of me).

    However, the only one that really makes me cringe is the annual “Baby tossing” in India. My name links to a video of this year’s festivities.

Leave a Reply

