Hypocracy Radar Taints Veggie Tales ‘Pirates’ Movie Review

The Pirates Who Don’t Do Anything: A VeggieTales Movie

This morning I read the NY Times review of “The Pirates Who Don’t Do Anything: A VeggieTales Movie” and was amazed at how the reviewer simply didn’t get it. I can only conclude that the reviewer had his hypocracy rader on and could only see bad.

He must have had a miserable time watching a movie that is simply fun. I have not seen it yet, but I guarantee it is fun because all the other Veggie Tales productions have been just that: a blast to watch. It makes no difference whether you are young or old, there are more than a few chuckles for everyone.

The movie was released this week and I’ll try to get it in this weekend. My suggestion: go see it…with your kids or without.

Meanwhile, here is my comment I posted in reviewer Neil Genzlinger’s NY Times piece:

Veggie Tales are, in part, about poking fun at ourselves (which we should do on a regular basis) and de-emphasizing the idolatry many hold for movies and cultural phenomena.

Another words, we put way too much emphasis on the Pirates of the Carribeans of the world and the actors who star in them. Did I enjoy Pirates of the Carribean? Yes. But the trilogy is not my source of happiness…and I have not lived, breathed, and dressed like a pirate for the past 6 years or so.

That said, this NY Times reviewer obviously went into screening this movie with such a tainted bias against anything striving for a higher ground that an awful review was the result.

I love the jabs at our crazy lives that the Veggie Tales have been able to insert in all their productions! Kids AND parents can have a blast with this stuff!

Can I hear an amen?

– Alexander
The Scrooge Report

The Pirates Who Don’t Do Anything: A VeggieTales Movie (Trailer)

One thought on “Hypocracy Radar Taints Veggie Tales ‘Pirates’ Movie Review

  1. I agree. I think this is one of the main problems with our secular culture. He missed all the “hidden” Christianity and virtue. I hope you have seen it by now. I went and saw it today, and the virtues showed in this movie more than the Jonah movie. It was great. But this guy was obviously athiest or something. yes, it was poking a little fun, but not at our piratical obsession . . . but at our lazy, cowardly, and less-than-needed culture. “It’s OK to be relaxed and pamper yourself.” everything in moderation. Mr Lunt showed that in this movie. I loved it, and It was wonderful. GO VEGGIETALES!

Leave a Reply

