Halloween: Hanging Out Among Gory and Cute

California fires, terror, and Little Bo Peep 

What will I be doing this evening? Going out among them! Them, you know the ones…them. The ones that…oh, my gosh…celebrate Halloween.

As I cruise town on the way to my church’s Harvest Festival to man the Jungle Jump bounce house as a volunteer, I will probably see a few revelers. Even at the community outreach event, which is expected to draw about 10,000 people, I’ll have a chance to gawk at the costumed.

Will I think that the guy who made himself look like he is carrying his own bloody, severed arm is ingenious? Probably not. Or that the kid dressed as a skeleton is oh, so, cute? Well, maybe, but I’ll still wonder what’s the fascination with dressing “spooky.”

There’s been a few open forums about Halloween in the blogosphere, including at TheScroogeReport. I’ve learned a lot. But it hasn’t been so much through the blogs that I’ve pondered, but on memories, including those of last week in California.

One lesson, such as I learned during the first Halloween after the Sept. 11, 2001 terrorist attacks on the U.S., is that celebrating terror or “having fun” with evil, makes less sense to me.

Now, just one week after huge chunks of Southern California burned and several hundreds of homes and businesses were destroyed, once again, the pinnings of Halloween make less sense.

So, do we get rid of Halloween? That ain’t happening. Do I preach about the “horrors” of following close to occult practices and placing any real worth on gore, gouls, and ghosts? Not from me.

My answer is to go out among them. Whether someone is immersed in fake blood or dressed up as a precious Little Bo Peep, I’ll be hanging out with them tonight.

I think I’m called to.

At that time the disciples came to Jesus and asked, “Who is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven?”

He called a little child and had him stand among them.

And he said: “I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.

“Therefore, whoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.

“And whoever welcomes a little child like this in my name welcomes me.

“But if anyone causes one of these little ones who believe in me to sin, it would be better for him to have a large millstone hung around his neck and to be drowned in the depths of the sea.

– Matthew 18:1-6

Be blessed today!

– Alexander, TheScroogeReport

Leave a Reply

