Fighter Pilot: There are Very Few Atheists in Cockpits

U.S. Air Force jet pilot responds to separation of church and state activist group’s opposition to care packages with Bibles

In TheScroogeReport’s post late this summer, Military Veteran: Evangelism is a Dirty Word When It Comes to U.S. Sponsored Care Packages, Troop Shows, there were not any comments made in response to the opinion story. That was until yesterday, when Leo, submitted one.

As I wrote in that post, Michael L. Weinstein, author of With God on Our Side and founder of Military Religious Freedom Foundation is so blinded by his passion to separate “religion” from state, that he was successful in having a faith-based group drop plans for a care package to U.S. military members that included a Bible and a fictional Christian video.

In Weinstein’s LA Times’ piece, “Not so fast, Christian soldiers,” the article shows that he despises how anyone partnering with our government could even think of sending care packages to our military abroad that include, of all things, Bibles!

Weinstein’s other beef is that evangelical groups visiting our troops with permission from the U.S. government is wrong.

Although I tried to profoundly rebuke Weinstein and his group’s efforts in my own words, Leo, does a much better job. Here’s his comment:

First – why am I responding? I have 4 tours – 2 in Afganistan, 2 in Iraq (this time). I am in the Air Force Reserves. I have logged over 70 combat sorties over both countries, shooting and being shot at. This gives me some right to say what I am about to say.

My guys know I am a Christian – they gave me the callsign “Preacher” at some point. When we launched night one in Iraq, THEY came to me and asked me to pray for and with them. When I launched crews, they asked me to pray for them and over their jet. I am not a Chaplain – I am a line crew dawg. We who were deployed loved nothing more than to get stuff from home…anything…broken cookies, candy, beef jerky, books – you name it. Nothing was desired more than packages from CHURCHES. From those in the US who we KNEW were praying, thinking, and loving us unconditionally. And, yes – they had BIBLES in them Bibles that were shared. Bibles that were flown with. Bibles that those who had never gone to church read often. Somewhere it was said “There are no atheists in foxholes.” Let me tell you – there are very few in cockpits either.

At no time was religion or faith a necessity for advancement in the Air Force – in fact, it is often seen as a detriment. There is total separation of Church and State in the Air Force – there is no need to proclaim anything for advancement. But there is GREAT FAITH. It rings loud and clear when the pressure is on. Whether or not people are willing to admit it at any other time – when the burners are lit, when you are cleared hot, when the safties are off – everyone KNOWS who God is, and where their salvation is.

I will get off my soapbox now. Our troops WANT stuff from home – it reminds them that others care and love them. Please, lets dump this junk of political correctness, and LET OUR TROOPS KNOW HOW WE FEEL ABOUT THEM.

Check 6.

Leo,
Thank you for your comment and thank you for your service to the U.S.!

Blessings,
Alexander

_______________

Related – Military Veteran: Evangelism is a Dirty Word When It Comes to U.S. Sponsored Care Packages, Troop Shows

Leave a Reply

