‘Facing the Giants’ Takes Football to Another Level

MY WEEKEND

My dad wanted me to play football when I was a kid because he thought that I could learn some lessons about life through my participation. So, at 10, I suited up and went through the motions for about six years until I realized in my 7th year of playing that I could actually make a huge impact if I did something like cause a fumble or sack the quarterback. Prior to that I was basically sleep walking.

My church had a movie night Friday, showing the film Facing the Giants. Interestingly enough, it was a football and life lessons movie about a high school team and coach that were basically going through the motions…having a really bad losing season. Then, faced with many adversities and the prospect of being fired from the team, the coach goes into some serious prayer and bible study.

He comes out of this period with an awakening and leads his team to a revival. I will not give away any more.

Movies with a Christian message are still struggling in terms of the movie box office. Even with the monumental success of The Passion for Christ there seems to still be some catching up to do in terms of quality film making. However, Facing the Giants has such a great message that it is easy to overlook the fact that is a little short on Hollywood gloss. Real easy…and besides, it just might be time for some of us to break out of the mold when it comes to our film viewing pleasure.

Looking for inspiration? Try viewing Facing the Giants. You can pick up a copy at FamilyChristian.com.

2 thoughts on “‘Facing the Giants’ Takes Football to Another Level

  1. Hi there,

    My name is Monique & I’m part of the PR team for Sherwood Pictures–creators of FACING THE GIANTS.
    Thank you so much for supporting the movie on your blog! We wanted to keep you informed of their latest project–FIREPROOF.
    It’s due to hit theaters this September in theaters nationwide. You can go to http://www.fireproofthemovie.com to view the trailer, read the synopsis, and sign up for updates to stay up to date with all of the FIREPROOF happenings!
    Again, thanks for blogging!
    Monique
    Lovell-Fairchild Communications

Leave a Reply

