President Bush Delivers Home Run U.N. Speech; at My Gym, Haters Keep Striking Out

George Bush at U.N. Sep. 25, 2007

Most mornings I try to put in 30-45 minutes at the local gym, either on the stationary bicycle or lifting some weights and using the machines. Today, I was on the bicycle. Usually there’s a couple people in that area of the gym cycling away.

By ALEXANDER
TheScroogeReport.com

As usual, I turn on the television in that little corner of the gym to help pass the time while my legs are pumping. The others usually have the TV off. This morning, President George Bush is speaking at the United Nations and I’m able to catch the speech in its entirety.

So, I’m sitting there on the cycle and this one woman drops by in that little corner of the room to catch a few sound bytes from the speech.

“Oh, no, is that his speech to the U.N.?” she said.

At this point, I don’t know where she is coming from.

“Yes, and he is hitting a homer,” I said. I felt Bush was on point, forcefull, and compassionate for human dignity and rights. As far as I was concerned, this was a great speech with him calling out the nations that are blowing it, and complimenting the nations that are towing the line when it comes to freedom…in the real sense.

“What?” she said.

“He is hitting a home run,” I said, trying to making it clearer.

Just then, Bush was speaking about the need to stop human trafficking. One of several points he made about nations needing to step up to the plate to fight these type of injustices.

“Oh no, really?” she said, either not understanding that I was paying him a compliment or that saying someone “hitting a home run” is a good thing. “He’s just deflecting the issues,” she said.

I didn’t respond. Why should I cast out pearls to swine?

She walked off after two minutes in disgust…getting back to her workout.

Some guy joins me at the bicycle next to me. He sees that Bush is speaking.

“What’s he saying?” he said.

I look at him squarely in the eyes because I already know by his tone that this guy hates Bush. “He’s giving a speech to the U.N.,” I said.

“I can’t believe what an idiot he is,” he said.

“What?” I said.

“I was reading an article this morning and he says that Hillary Clinton is going to win over the the other Democrats and the Republicans,” he said. “What an idiot.”

“Why?” I say.

“He said he was not going to join the presidential campaign and then he says that,” he said. “Why would he say something like that? He’s an idiot.”

“I read about the story,” I said. “But I did not hear that he also said that Hillary was going to win the whole thing. Really?”

“Oh, ya, he said she is going to win over everybody. Why would he say that?” he said in disgust.

“Hmmmm,” I said.

And so it goes on. The hate for Bush is so strong in so many people. Bush could have been saying this morning that he discovered a cure for AIDS and the haters would have still been hating on him.

The hatred for Bush in the gym was pallatable. Seems like some people could stand a little excercise of their minds. Stretch those thought muscles just enough to realize that our President was hitting a home run this morning in his address to the U.N.

Photo by AP

3 thoughts on “President Bush Delivers Home Run U.N. Speech; at My Gym, Haters Keep Striking Out

  1. Hmmmmm…

    The President bungled a war. He bungled the honor of our country. He bungled his responsibility to the Constitution. In fact, he bungled most all of his major initiatives. And even now he’s ready to bungle a piece of legislation giving health care to millions more children. I’d say he bungled like no President has bungled in recent history.

    But yes, his U.N. speech is a home run. It’s flying off into the void of inconsequential nothingness even as I write this.

    Gimme a break.

  2. @ Patrick in… “bungled”…hmmmm, must have taken a lot of restraint to use such a puny word. I’m sure your position against Bush has you thinking a lot worse than “bungled.”

    BTW: Nice repetition of Bush Haters talking points.

  3. I think you my have missed TWO points.

    You were using baseball analogies that perhaps she didn’t understand the meaning of. For example, do you understand “100 all out”, a Cricketing term. Is it good or bad? That’s what I thought! Your Baseball analogy’s obvious to you but not to others.

    Second point. People don’t “just hate Bush” Like some just hate broccoli. They hate him because they HAVE stretched their minds. They want something different for the US than all that Bush stands for. Why are the Bush haters not “stretching their minds” but the people who admire him are? I have met plenty of people who Love Bush who definitely haven’t stretched their minds. Why is the woman’s disagreement somehow ignorance?
    Looks to me like you’re exhibiting a tribe mentality.

Leave a Reply

