Blogging on the Spiritual Battlefield

Rooting TheScroogeReport – Part 2

OK…now that we may have trimmed away a little of the ghost of Ebenezer Scrooge on this blog as I talked about in Part 1 of Rooting TheScroogeReport, let’s talk a bit about blogging.

Specifically, I mean blogging with the idea that our postings count. Do they? Well, in my own life, I have seen my words change lives. And while that may seem like I’m overstating the effect, it’s true. The words may not have necessarily been posted on a blog, but because I’ve written for a couple of mainstream newspapers, freelanced for a Christian news wire service, and articles (words) have appeared in various forms, I’ve seen the power the written word can have. That doesn’t mean words can not have the same effect coming from a blog.

Words count. I would not be blogging if they didn’t. How do I want them to count? I would like to see them illuminate. To be on safe ground in doing so, I go to prayer and I go to the Bible. It doesn’t mean I’m hitting a homer with each post…it’s just a start and a foundation I would like to build on.

The verses from the Bible I’ve chosen to lead me in my writings in TheScroogeReport are about illumination…light where there is darkness. I don’t think it is a good idea to ignore evil or pretend it doesn’t exist. I try to have fun with it sometimes. Evil isn’t pretty, but sometimes it can disguise itself as so. But in order for evil not to bite you in the butt…or worse, we must recognize that it exists.

In Him was life, and that life was the light of men. That light shines in the darkness, yet the darkness did not overcome it. – John 1:4,5

If the Bible was just stating that something like a flashlight was lighting up a dark room it would not be a big deal. But it’s talking about spiritual light and darkness. It’s talking about good and evil…and that’s what I try and write and post and blog about here.

Until we meet again, reporting from the spiritual battlefield found right here on earth, keep on blogging!

– Alexander

__________

Previous:

Part 1

Leave a Reply

