Offending someone has become a national obsession

By ALEXANDER
TheScroogeReport.com 

Offending someone, whether famous or not, has become a national obsession.

Not only do we find ourselves offending in private, but now offensive remarks or actions are recorded for public consumption like never before.

On The View we can see women offend large chunks of the country, then offend each other, and still have a decent TV audience. On cable TV we can see people get “punked” and enjoy their pain. And on the internet…well, just about anything goes.

Take this blog, for example. I’m sure somewhere, somehow, someone was offended or took offense to any one of the This Week’s Top Scrooge dishoners.

Why do I know that?

Because the Lord blessed me with a conscience. (You have one too, by the way.)

Sure, I have fun with calling out Alec Baldwin or Don Imus or others for their questionable behavior. But you know what? Deep down, sometimes not too very deep down inside, I can hear my conscience asking “why?”

Why do I/we revel sometimes in others’ mistakes?

Oh sure, I try to justify it by thinking I may serve as a wake up call to someone headed down the wrong path. Or I’m just being a journalist and reflecting society. But could TheScroogeReport just turn into another gossip blog?

Could it?

My hunch is that it will not…especially if my best journalistic self (conscience) doesn’t let it.

I hope you stay tuned.

Oh, and back to conscience…

Today’s Billy Graham message, from the devotional book Hope For Each Day goes like this:

I myself always strive to have a conscience without offense toward God and men. – Acts 24:16

God has given our conscience to us. Its very presence is a reflection of God in human soul. Sin, however, can dull or even distort our conscience, silencing its voice and leading us astray. But God’s Word can purify and sharpen our conscience — and when that happens, “He leads (us) in paths of righteousness for His name’s sake.” (Psam 23:3)

Is this happening in your life?

Have a nice weekend everyone. I’m headed to Big Bear for a Christian retreat…and to wrestle with my conscience.
____________________

Leave a Reply

