What would a city or nation look like under the influence of the peace of Christ’s kingdom?

Chiming in on praying for Christ’s influence… 

The tenth day of prayer bullet points from the Global Day of Prayer guide that I posted Saturday brought up some interesting points…especially from a commentator.

The particular bullet point is the second one listed here in bold:

For the Blessing of the Nations
• For the righteousness and justice of God to affect the ways of commerce and politics, cleansing whole societies from the curse of corruption.

• For the peace of Christ’s kingdom to influence the way cities and nations are governed.

• For the joy of Christ’s kingdom to erupt in celebrations
of grateful praise amidst every people group on earth.
 

Let me ask up a couple of more questions than the comments exchange (which you can look at in the other post by clicking on the link below).

What would a city or nation look like under the influence of the peace of Christ’s kingdom? Would it be a theocracy? Do the two go hand in hand?

You can add any other questions or your answers to this discussion.

link: Ten Days of Constant Prayer – DAY 10

5 thoughts on “What would a city or nation look like under the influence of the peace of Christ’s kingdom?

  1. I would hesitate to assign a term like “theocracy” to the ideal of having our cities and nations governed by the peace of Christ’s kingdom. By labeling it, we’re putting it in terms that man has invented. Instead, we should be fashioning our cities and nations on the principles of love that God lays out for us in the Bible.

    As for how it pertains to the 10 days of prayer, I think it’s important to note that it says “influence.” Not “change” or “restructure” or “alter entirely,” but just “influence.” The prayer is an appeal for improvement, not a complete restructuring. So the idea of a theocracy is probably irrelevant. Instead, we should be praying that we might welcome the peace of Christ’s kingdom. But we shouldn’t expect perfection.

  2. PEACE OF CHRIST
    About 3 years ago I dropped into a black hole – four months of absolute terror. I wanted to end my life, but somehow [Holy Spirit], I reached out to a friend who took me to hospital. I had three visits [hospital] in four months – I actually thought I was in hell. I imagine I was going through some sort of metamorphosis [mental, physical & spiritual]. I had been seeing a therapist [1994] on a regular basis, up until this point in time. I actually thought I would be locked away – but the hospital staff was very supportive [I had no control over my process]. I was released from hospital 16th September 1994, but my fear, pain & shame had only subsided a little. I remember this particular morning waking up [home] & my process would start up again [fear, pain, & shame]. No one could help me, not even my therapist [I was terrified]. I asked Jesus Christ to have mercy on me & forgive me my sins. Slowly, all my fear has dissipated & I believe Jesus delivered me from my “psychological prison.” I am a practicing Catholic & the Holy Spirit is my friend & strength; every day since then has been a joy & blessing. I deserve to go to hell for the life I have led, but Jesus through His sacrifice on the cross, delivered me from my inequities. John 3: 8, John 15: 26, are verses I can relate to, organically. He’s a real person who is with me all the time. I have so much joy & peace in my life, today, after a childhood spent in orphanages [England & Australia]. God LOVES me so much. Fear, pain, & shame, are no longer my constant companions. I just wanted to share my experience with you [Luke 8: 16 – 17].

    Peace Be With You
    Micky

Leave a Reply

