No Brainer: Pot Triggers Psychotic Symptoms, Doctors Say

We’ve long suspected that cannabis is linked to psychoses, but we have never before had scans to show how the mechanism works. – Dr. Philip McGuire

Indoor Pot Farm

By MARIA CHENG
Associated Press

April 30, 2007 – The Scrooge Report Post

LONDON – New findings on marijuana’s damaging effect on the brain show the drug triggers temporary psychotic symptoms in some people, including hallucinations and paranoid delusions, doctors say.

British doctors took brain scans of 15 healthy volunteers given small doses of two of the active ingredients of cannabis, as well as a placebo.

One compound, cannabidiol, or CBD, made people more relaxed. But even small doses of another component, tetrahydrocannabinol, or THC, produced temporary psychotic symptoms in people, including hallucinations and paranoid delusions, doctors said.

The results, to be presented at an international mental health conference in London on Tuesday and Wednesday, provides physical evidence of the drug’s damaging influence on the human brain.

“We’ve long suspected that cannabis is linked to psychoses, but we have never before had scans to show how the mechanism works,” said Dr. Philip McGuire, a professor of psychiatry at King’s College, London.

Read Full Story

9 thoughts on “No Brainer: Pot Triggers Psychotic Symptoms, Doctors Say

  1. Lame. Is this just a regurgitation of other people’s opinion? Do you have experience in this? Please cut into your mind a little deeper, it won’t hurt too bad.

  2. “Opinion” as in medical research and factual evidence as witnessed on the brain scans? Not my definition of opinion.

    And, yes, I have witnessed temporary psychotic symptoms in some people, including hallucinations and paranoid delusions.

    I might ask that YOU might open up your mind a bit. Pot is not for everyone, especially those that are concerned about their mental health. For others, being doped up is part of their game.

    Not my cup of tea (anymore) or others as well.

    –Alexander

  3. Yes, yes, yes, I understand that it is not for everyone. Just as some people are allergic to peanut butter, others are not able to take some medications too. I just wanted to hear what you had to say about it, not just a copy, paste. -kArAndom

  4. I’m not even really giving the green light to say it’s OK for some…but its their choice…that’s what I’m saying…I can’t stop their choice.

    The Scrooge Report is a type of news service…there IS some editorial content…as in This Week’s Top Scrooge. It’s not all just cut and paste.

    Thanks!

  5. Haha, I like how they put this up there with big headlines

    POT CAUSES PSYCHOSIS!!!!

    When really what the article says is that pot makes you paranoid, which is pretty much a widely known fact anyways. The main TIME article made it seem like there is some sort of permanent damage going on, when really the only bad thing is that it makes people with schizophrenia worse.

    I still don’t understand why we have anti-marijuana commercials, but no anti-alcohol commercials. You can’t begome a pot-o-holic, you can’t overdose on pot.

  6. Funny, there are people who can not get out of bed without first taking a puff of pot…so I would say that although they may not be named “pot-o-holics”, some people have developed a constant craving…about as “pot-o-holic” as you can get or any other name you want to give it.

    Yes, you don’t see anti-alcohol commercials. Instead we see an endless parade of beautiful people drinking in the beer and alcohol commercials. Hmmmm, you don’t see the toothless, prune faced people who have indulged in alchohol for many years either.

    So, two wrongs don’t make a right. Not much money in truthfull commercials.

  7. i went to my doc to ask him about psychosis n he said its all in the head sleep on it!!!!! av tried it n it aint [expletive] working someone help me as am going [expletive] MAD!!!!! cant spot thinking about my next JOINT!!! HELP ME!!! CHEERS!!!

  8. I agree with these findings through my own personal experiences. After smoking marijuana heavily for 4 to 5 years I became very depressed. Later in my life I was diagnosed with bi-polar disorder. Most of the psychiatrists that I’ve seen stated that if I would have continued to use this drug my mental illness would have became much worse. I firmly agree with their opinions and hope that pot is NEVER LEGALIZED!

    If you are in recovery and have some real hand experience please visit and help us. There are way too many kids posting on the website and they do not have a clue about addiction. I’ve heard the term “Weak Willed” one too many times. Do any of you recovering addicts feel that you are “Weak Willed”? I sure as hell know that I’m not weak willed.

    SAYNOTOPOT.COM

  9. Isnt that the point I thought that people who took cannabis were hoping for a pleasant combination of relaxation and psychosis and that less than one percent of people who take it have difficulties. Mankinds thirst for mind altering experiences is as strong today as it has always been. They just love to feel different.

Leave a Reply

